Project Title: Extension and refurbishment of the St John’s Co-Cathedral Museum
Start / Finish Dates: May 2017 – ongoing
This project requires En-Sure Ltd to monitor excavation works for the creation of a new tapestry hall on top of the ex-World War II buildings adjacent to Merchant Street. This new extension will house the renowned Flemish Tapestries and other Maltese treasures.
St John’s Co-Cathedral started construction in 1573 following plans designed by the renowned military architect Girolamo Cassar. Over time, the Co-Cathedral underwent numerous structural changes, including the reduction in size of a cemetery located on the right hand side to accommodate the oratory dedicated to the beheading of St John. Later additions to the Co-Cathedral include the lodging facilities for the Grand Prior of the Order, and the Carapecchia’s annexes in 1736. During World War II, the area adjacent to Merchant Street was bombed heavily, and subsequently redeveloped in the 1950s.